How to use the staging site feature?

The staging site feature allows you to have a clone of your site at all times and test anything with it before moving to the live site.

How to view my staging site?

  • Go to your dashboard
  • Click My sites
  • Click Manage for the desired site
  • Under the Staging tab you will see both your staging and live sites
  • Click the white buttons at the bottom to view the sites

What are the WordPress login details to my staging site?

They are the same as your live site because it's an identical copy of it.

How do I synchronize my live and staging sites?

This is the heart of the staging feature and there are two actions you can take. Pushing data from the staging site to the live site and pulling data from the live site to the staging site.

Pulling data from the live site

Before you work and test things on your staging site, you almost always want to fetch the latest version of your live site, this allows you to work on the most recent version of your site. Here is how you can do this:

  • Click the left arrow

  • Choose what you want to transfer (files, database or both)
    • Files are everything that's on your server, including themes, plugins etc. If you were working on the theme files, you might want to only fetch the files.
    • Database is the content of your site
    • Note that you can choose to do a complete sync by ticking both files and data.
  • Click the Synchronize button
  • Wait for the sync to finish (you are not required to stay on the page)
  • If everything goes well, you should see "Site sync was successful"

Pushing data to the live site (from the staging site)

Once you are done working on your staging, it's time to push your work to the live site. Here is how you can achieve this.

  • Click the right arrow

  • Choose what you want to transfer (files, database or both)
    • If you've only worked on a plugin for example, you might only push the files.
    • If you were editing posts, you could choose to only push the database.
    • Note that you can choose to do a complete sync by ticking both files and data.
  • Click the Synchronize button
  • Wait for the sync to finish (you are not required to stay on the page)
  • If everything goes well, you should see "Site sync was successful"

What to do after the sync is complete

Once you are done with the synchronization process, you should check that everything went well by going to your live site and looking for issues. Should anything unwanted happen, note that you can always restore your site to a previous point in time.

Backup before syncing

It is recommended to manually backup your site (using the FalconStack dashboard) before performing big syncs (for example, after a lot of changes). This way, you always have the option to roll back.